Box office: 020 7978 7040

Theatre503 and Bethany Cooper Productions present

Tapped

Written by Katie Redford
Directed by Piers Black
Book Now

Can anyone really be their ‘best selves’ all the time?

Tapped is a heart warming comedy that explores the importance of connection, fulfilment and (lack of) hope. In Stapleford, Nottingham, aka Stabbo, we meet Gavi, Jen and Bev at an amateur self-help group who all share one commonality; they’re desperate for escapism. Tapped is a witty and sensitive portrayal of managing mental health within a family, recognising the complexities of grief, and learning how to find humour in our flaws. We all make mistakes and none of us have all the answers, so if we can’t laugh, and eat too many club biscuits along the way, what’s the point in any of it?

A play about fears, hopes, having big dreams in small places and how the idea of change is far easier said than done.

Gavi wants to inspire his community. Which is tricky when everyone just wants to order Deliveroo and watch Gogglebox. Adamant he’s going to succeed with his mission, Gavi starts holding motivational meetings for his fellow Co-op colleagues. With the help of daily mantras, goal setting and repeatedly listening to Spandau Ballet, he believes their lives will change for the better. However, when the only two attendees are bickering mother and daughter Bev and Jen, it’s not quite the enlightening experience they all thought it would be. Bev wants more from life, Jen wants a brand new life and Gavi just wants Jen in his life; But there’s only so much ‘positive visualisation’ they can all do before simply facing up to the painful reality of what’s really going on.

Piers Black (Ransack Theatre, Catching Comets) directs the premiere of Katie Redford’s hilarious and honest debut play. Presented by Theatre503 and Bethany Cooper Productions.

 

Age guidance: 14+

Saturday matinee performances are Pay What You Can, and there are five £5 tickets on offer for every show after Previews.

 

TAILORED PERFORMANCES:  

5 April 7.30pm WRITERS NIGHT: A chance for writers to enjoy a discounted ticket and meet our literary department and the writer of the show. Attendees to Writers Night are invited to submit for our Rapid Write Response initiative. To unlock the £5 tickets, phone our box office 020 7978 7040 to be digitally tagged as a writer. If you are unable to attend our Writers Night, the £5 tickets will also be available for the following performance.

20 April 12pm PARENT & BABY: Similar to our Relaxed Performance in terms of technical alterations, but provided as an opportunity for parents and/or guardians to enjoy a spot of theatre without the need to hire a babysitter. Please note, we do not exclude other audience members from booking to see this performance.

20 April 7.30pm RELAXED: For anyone who benefits from a more relaxed performance environment. House lights are left up with audience free to exit and reenter as required. Sound levels are reduced and any strobe / ‘flashing light’ effects will be omitted also.

20 April 7.30pm CAPTIONED: We’re offering captioning to mobile phones via the Difference Engine app, from Talking Birds. Download the free app from the App Store or Google Play, or find more info via the Difference Engine website.

Katie Redford

Katie Redford is a writer & performer from Nottingham. She won BAFTA Rocliffe TV Comedy in 2019 and is a BBC Comedy Writersroom alumni. YELLOW LIPS, her debut drama for BBC Radio 4, which she played the lead in, was broadcast in Spring 2021, and she has various TV scripts in commissioned development. She also co-wrote, performed in and produced award winning short film GHOSTED, starring Alison Steadman. TAPPED is her debut play for stage.

Dates

Tuesday 5 April Tue 5 Apr 19:30 Book Now
Wednesday 6 April Wed 6 Apr 19:30 Book Now
Thursday 7 April Thu 7 Apr 19:30 Book Now
Friday 8 April Fri 8 Apr 19:30 Book Now
Saturday 9 April Sat 9 Apr 19:30 Book Now
Monday 11 April Mon 11 Apr 19:30 Book Now
Tuesday 12 April Tue 12 Apr 19:30 Sold Out
Wednesday 13 April Wed 13 Apr 19:30 Book Now
Thursday 14 April Thu 14 Apr 19:30 Book Now
Friday 15 April Fri 15 Apr 19:30 Book Now
Saturday 16 April Sat 16 Apr 15:00 Book Now
Saturday 16 April Sat 16 Apr 19:30 Book Now
Tuesday 19 April Tue 19 Apr 19:30 Book Now
Wednesday 20 April Wed 20 Apr 12:00 Book Now
Wednesday 20 April Wed 20 Apr 19:30 Book Now
Thursday 21 April Thu 21 Apr 19:30 Book Now
Friday 22 April Fri 22 Apr 19:30 Book Now
Saturday 23 April Sat 23 Apr 15:00 Book Now
Saturday 23 April Sat 23 Apr 19:30 Book Now
Artistic Team
Writer
Katie Redford
Director
Piers Black
Producer
Bethany Cooper
Cast

There are currently no news articles for this show!

You may also like