Box office: 020 7978 7040

Relentless Productions and Theatre503 present

My Brother’s Keeper

Written by Mahad Ali
Directed by Rob Awosusi
Book Now

Two refugee brothers. A small British town hostile to immigration. My Brother’s Keeper charts a story of love, pain and learning in building community.

Refugee brothers Aman and Hassan are dispersed to live in a British seaside town. In desperate need of business, hotelier Bill Bradley and his son Aidan agree to house them but face animosity from their community for doing so. As Aidan takes Aman under his wing and they draw ever closer, they soon learn the utopia they create for themselves in the hotel is no match for the real world and must confront the hostile climate they live in.

My Brother’s Keeper explores the politics of immigration, religion and sexuality as a small British town tries to find its place at a time of great change in the world.

Relentless Productions is a new theatre company founded by Layla Madanat & Mahad Ali. It aims to bring diverse stories to the stage that challenge, provoke thought and motivate action on issues pertinent to the times we live in. Whilst providing a platform for creative talent from underrepresented backgrounds to thrive.

Running time: 1 hour 55 mins (inc. 15 minute interval)

Age guidance: 14+

Content information: This show contains themes that some audience members may find distressing. If this sounds like it could apply to you, you can view content information here.

TAILORED PERFORMANCES:  

14 February 7.30pm WRITERS NIGHT: A chance for writers to enjoy a discounted ticket and meet our literary department and the writer of the show. Attendees to Writers Night are invited to submit for our Rapid Write Response initiative. To unlock a £6 ticket, email boxoffice@theatre503.com to be digitally tagged as a writer. If you have previously been tagged as a writer, your ticket will automatically adjust to £6 on the final page of booking – you do not need a Promo Code. If you are unable to attend our Writers Night, the £6 tickets will also be available up until Saturday 18th.

1 March 12pm PARENT & BABY:  Provided as an opportunity for parents and/or guardians to enjoy a spot of theatre without the need to hire a babysitter. Please note, we do not exclude other audience members from booking to see this performance.

Mahad Ali

Mahad’s play ‘My Brother’s Keeper’ was selected and developed as part of Theatre 503’s 503Five programme. The play was also longlisted for the 2018 Alfred Fagon Award. He was also a part of the inaugural Tamasha Theatre Playwriting group and has had performances at Stratford Theatre Royal Stratford East, Rich Mix, Park and Soho Theatres with Tamasha and Paines Plough. Mahad had several pieces published in the anthology Hear Me Now: Audition Monologues for Actors of Colour published by Oberon.

Mahad is currently part of BBC Writers Academy 2021, where he will work on continuing drama series and develop an original project with one of the BBC’s independent production companies. Mahad’s play the ‘Beginning of the End’ was selected for the Top 100 Longlist for the 2013 Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting

Dates

Tuesday 14 February Tue 14 Feb 19:30 Book Now
Wednesday 15 February Wed 15 Feb 19:30 Book Now
Thursday 16 February Thu 16 Feb 19:30 Book Now
Friday 17 February Fri 17 Feb 19:30 Book Now
Saturday 18 February Sat 18 Feb 19:30 Book Now
Monday 20 February Mon 20 Feb 19:30 Book Now
Tuesday 21 February Tue 21 Feb 19:30 Sold Out
Wednesday 22 February Wed 22 Feb 19:30 Book Now
Thursday 23 February Thu 23 Feb 19:30 Book Now
Friday 24 February Fri 24 Feb 19:30 Book Now
Saturday 25 February Sat 25 Feb 14:30 Book Now
Saturday 25 February Sat 25 Feb 19:30 Book Now
Tuesday 28 February Tue 28 Feb 19:30 Book Now
Wednesday 1 March Wed 1 Mar 12:00 Book Now
Wednesday 1 March Wed 1 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Thursday 2 March Thu 2 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Friday 3 March Fri 3 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Saturday 4 March Sat 4 Mar 14:30 Book Now
Saturday 4 March Sat 4 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Artistic Team
Writer
Mahad Ali
Director
Rob Awosusi
Producer
Layla Madanat
Director
Robert Awosusi
Cast

There are currently no news articles for this show!

You may also like