Produced by Emily Carewe, 45North and Theatre503

MEAT

Written by Gillian Greer
Directed by Lucy Jane Atkinson
Book Now

When Max pays Ronan a visit at his restaurant in Dublin, he’s determined to prove to her how far he’s come, but she’s got something bigger to discuss. Over the course of one wine-soaked evening, old wounds are exposed and new truths uncovered. MEAT is a story of class, consent and how modern Ireland reckons with the transgressions buried in its past. How can one couple navigate their shared history when their memories don’t quite match up?

Written by playwright and dramaturg Gillian Greer, MEAT was a finalist in Theatre503’s International Playwriting Award in 2018, reaching the top 5 of 2,055 plays submitted from 49 countries. Directed by Lucy Jane Atkinson and produced by Emily Carewe, this production is presented as a co-production with 45North.

Age guidance 14+

This production contains strong references of sexual assault

We are excited to announce we are being supported by Solace Women’s Aid. Solace support women and children in London to build safe lives and strong futures, free from domestic and sexual violence and abuse. 

 

 

 

TAILORED PERFORMANCES:  

15 Feb 2pm ACCESSIBLE DRESS REHEARSAL: Dress Rehearsal Run of the show at Soho Theatre which is accessible to wheelchair-users using the elevator to reach the theatre spaces. Email emily@emilycarewe.com to reserve your spot. Please note this run through will have limited set and props.

4 March 12pm PARENT & BABY: Similar to our Relaxed Performance in terms of technical alterations, but provided as an opportunity for parents and/or guardians to enjoy a spot of theatre without the need to hire a babysitter. Please note, we do not exclude other audience members from booking to see this performance.

4 March 7.30pm RELAXED: For anyone who benefits from a more relaxed performance environment. House lights are left up with audience free to exit and reenter as required. Sound levels are reduced and any strobe / ‘flashing light’ effects will be omitted also.

4 & 10 March 6pm PRE-SHOW TOUCH TOUR: An opportunity for audience members who would benefit from making themselves familiar with the set before the performance.

10 March 7.30pm AUDIO DESCRIBED : A performance accompanied by audio description.

12 March 7.30pm BSL INTERPRETED PERFORMANCE: A performance accompanied by a British Sign Language Interpreter.

13 March POST SHOW DISCUSSION: Discussing consent within the industry. Join representatives from Solace Women’s Aid along with members of the MEAT creative team and industry intimacy directors as we discuss the ways in which consent works in the rehearsal room and in theatres.

Gillian Greer

Gillian is a playwright and dramaturg from Dublin who has seen her work performed in The Abbey in Dublin, The Traverse in Edinburgh and all manner of London fringe venues, including Theatre503.

Her debut play PETALS was nominated for the Irish Times Theatre Award for Best New Play in 2015 and was recently adapted for radio. As a dramaturg, she has worked at The National Theatre, VAULT Festival, Clean Break Theatre Company, The Mercury Theatre and many more. She was recently appointed Literary Manager of The Soho Theatre.

Dates

Tuesday 25 February Tue 25 Feb 19:30 Sold Out
Wednesday 26 February Wed 26 Feb 19:30 Book Now
Thursday 27 February Thu 27 Feb 19:30 Book Now
Friday 28 February Fri 28 Feb 19:30 Book Now
Saturday 29 February Sat 29 Feb 15:00 Book Now
Saturday 29 February Sat 29 Feb 19:30 Book Now
Tuesday 3 March Tue 3 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Wednesday 4 March Wed 4 Mar 12:00 Book Now
Wednesday 4 March Wed 4 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Thursday 5 March Thu 5 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Friday 6 March Fri 6 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Saturday 7 March Sat 7 Mar 15:00 Book Now
Saturday 7 March Sat 7 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Tuesday 10 March Tue 10 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Wednesday 11 March Wed 11 Mar 15:00 Book Now
Wednesday 11 March Wed 11 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Thursday 12 March Thu 12 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Friday 13 March Fri 13 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Saturday 14 March Sat 14 Mar 15:00 Book Now
Saturday 14 March Sat 14 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Artistic Team
Writer
Gillian Greer
Director
Lucy Jane Atkinson
Designer
Rachel Stone
Lighting Designer
Zia Bergin-Holly
Sound Designer
Annie May Fletcher
Intimacy Director
Adelaide Waldrop
Assistant Director
Yusuf Niazi
Producer
Emily Carewe
Stage Manager
Bryony Byrne
Production Manager
Harry Fearnley-Brown
Casting Director
Belinda Norcliffe CDG
Stage Manager (Cover)
Angus Chisholm
Designer (Cover)
Eleanor Bull
Cast
Max
India Mullen
Ronan
Sean Fox
Jo
Elinor Lawless

There are currently no news articles for this show!

You may also like