Theatre503 presents

Br’er Cotton

Written by Tearrance Arvelle Chisholm
Directed by Roy Alexander Weise
Book Now

7 Mar – 31 Mar

Lynchburg, Virginia, on the former site of a cotton mill. 14 year old Ruffrino is struggling to make sense of his place in an impoverished world filled with seemingly random killings of young black men. As his anger towards reality grows, he moves further away from his family. Losing himself online, Ruffrino’s world sinks around him while he battles to wake up the zombies and prove by any means necessary that Black Lives Matter.

Br’er Cotton was shortlisted for both the Theatre503 Playwriting Award 2016 and the Relentless Award.

PRIORITY BOOKING for Friends & Patrons. Please call 020 7978 7040
PUBLIC BOOKING 
opens Friday 8 December at 12noon.

Tearrance Arvelle Chisholm

Tearrance is a playwright and artist. Born and raised in St. Louis, Missouri he is currently a member of the Lila Acheson Wallace American Playwrights Program at Juilliard and a recent MFA Playwriting graduate. His play Hooded: Or Being Black for Dummies will receive its World Premiere at Mosaic Theatre in Washington, D.C. this year and will be followed by the World Premiere of his play Br’er Cotton at Kitchen Dog Theatre in Dallas, TX. He has been profiled as someone to watch (American Theatre Magazine, Variety) developed work with numerous US theatres (Mosaic Theatre, Signature Theatre, Theatre J, Theatre Alliance and more) and been nominated (and occasionally won) awards (Relentless Award, Rosa Parks Playwriting Award, Lorraine Hansberry Playwriting Award). It is the combination of visual art and the written word that motivates all his work.

Dates

Wednesday 7 March Wed 7 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Thursday 8 March Thu 8 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Friday 9 March Fri 9 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Saturday 10 March Sat 10 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Monday 12 March Mon 12 Mar 19:30 Sold Out
Tuesday 13 March Tue 13 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Wednesday 14 March Wed 14 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Thursday 15 March Thu 15 Mar 19:30 Sold Out
Friday 16 March Fri 16 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Saturday 17 March Sat 17 Mar 15:00 Book Now
Saturday 17 March Sat 17 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Tuesday 20 March Tue 20 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Wednesday 21 March Wed 21 Mar 12:00 Book Now
Wednesday 21 March Wed 21 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Thursday 22 March Thu 22 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Friday 23 March Fri 23 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Saturday 24 March Sat 24 Mar 15:00 Book Now
Saturday 24 March Sat 24 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Tuesday 27 March Tue 27 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Wednesday 28 March Wed 28 Mar 15:00 Book Now
Wednesday 28 March Wed 28 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Thursday 29 March Thu 29 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Friday 30 March Fri 30 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Saturday 31 March Sat 31 Mar 15:00 Book Now
Saturday 31 March Sat 31 Mar 19:30 Book Now
Artistic Team
Writer
Tearrance Arvelle Chisholm
Director
Roy Alexander Weise
Cast
TBC
tbc

There are currently no news articles for this show!

You may also like