Produced by Wrested Veil and Theatre503

Before Evening Comes

Written by Philana Imade Omorotionmwan
Directed by Anastasia Osei-Kuffour
Book Now

Before Evening Comes explores a future where the perceived threat young boys of colour pose has finally been eliminated. The government mandates that once a boy turns thirteen, his right leg is to be amputated just above the knee. Time begins with Totome excited to meet “the butcher” (James) and finally become a man. Totome’s mother Mary, hopes his talent for tap dancing will allow him to stay whole. Theatre503 International Playwriting Award 2018 finalist Philana Imade Omorotionmwan delivers a devastating and terrifying allegory for a future that no longer seems as far-fetched as we can imagine.

Philana Imade Omorotionmwan

Philana is originally from Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Her writing frequently considers how the processes by which people are othered can often lead to our bodies feeling like prisons.

A 2018-19 Playwrights’ Center Jerome Fellow, she has been a semifinalist for the 2017 Relentless Award, a two-time Heideman Award finalist, and a finalist for the Princess Grace Playwriting Fellowship and the Playwrights Realm's Scratchpad Series. Philana earned a BA in English at Stanford University and completed an MFA in Playwriting at OU in 2018.

Dates

Wednesday 9 September Wed 9 Sep 19:30 Book Now
Thursday 10 September Thu 10 Sep 19:30 Book Now
Friday 11 September Fri 11 Sep 19:30 Book Now
Saturday 12 September Sat 12 Sep 19:30 Book Now
Monday 14 September Mon 14 Sep 19:30 Book Now
Tuesday 15 September Tue 15 Sep 19:30 Sold Out
Wednesday 16 September Wed 16 Sep 19:30 Book Now
Thursday 17 September Thu 17 Sep 19:30 Book Now
Friday 18 September Fri 18 Sep 19:30 Book Now
Saturday 19 September Sat 19 Sep 15:00 Book Now
Saturday 19 September Sat 19 Sep 19:30 Book Now
Tuesday 22 September Tue 22 Sep 19:30 Book Now
Wednesday 23 September Wed 23 Sep 12:00 Book Now
Wednesday 23 September Wed 23 Sep 19:30 Book Now
Thursday 24 September Thu 24 Sep 19:30 Book Now
Friday 25 September Fri 25 Sep 19:30 Book Now
Saturday 26 September Sat 26 Sep 15:00 Book Now
Saturday 26 September Sat 26 Sep 19:30 Book Now
Tuesday 29 September Tue 29 Sep 19:30 Book Now
Wednesday 30 September Wed 30 Sep 15:00 Book Now
Wednesday 30 September Wed 30 Sep 19:30 Book Now
Thursday 1 October Thu 1 Oct 19:30 Book Now
Friday 2 October Fri 2 Oct 19:30 Book Now
Saturday 3 October Sat 3 Oct 15:00 Book Now
Saturday 3 October Sat 3 Oct 19:30 Book Now
Artistic Team
Writer
Philana Imade Omorotionmwan
Director
Anastasia Osei-Kuffour
Cast

There are currently no news articles for this show!

You may also like